ARE 5.0

What Makes ARE Prep Different From Other Exams You’ve Taken?

Preparing for the ARE includes detailed planning, research, and targeted practice. Here's what makes architect exam prep different from other exams.

Prepping for the ARE isn’t easy. To be successful, the process must include detailed planning, research, and targeted practice. 

From the way you should study to how long you have to take the exam is completely different from other exams you’ve taken in the past. 

Let’s discuss what makes architect registration exam prep different from other exams, and how you can tackle these differences with confidence.

The Divisions

The ARE 5.0 exam is broken down into six divisions. What’s more, the entire exam is organized around the progression of a typical architecture project and current best practices. 

Each division of the ARE 5.0 may include:

  • Multiple-choice questions
  • Check-all-that-apply questions
  • Hot Spot
  • Drag and Place
  • Fill-in-the-blank
  • Case Studies

You can take each division of the ARE in any order, but you’ll want to have a strategy for picking the division order that works for you. Due to the variety of question types and number of divisions, remember to keep organized to avoid any surprises on your test days. 

The Material

After you start the registration process for the ARE 5.0, it’s time to take a look at what study materials are available and select the best ones for you. Since the ARE is specifically for architects, you won’t find as many companies offering extensive exam prep as you would for the SAT, as just one example. But that doesn’t mean you can’t find what you need if you know where to look.

While traditional study methods — such as taking ARE 5.0 practice exams — are a good start, you’ll want to include multimedia options such as video lectures and virtual workshops to help understand all aspects of the exam. Having the best ARE exam prep materials will give you the confidence to pursue licensure head-on. 

The Timeline

Most exams have you sit and take the test all at once. The ARE is different. A rolling clock starts from the date that you took and passed your first section (division) of the exam. You have five years to take and pass the other five ARE exam divisions before your first division exam score expires. 

Should you have an expired exam division, you will need to retake it. The NCARB may allow adjustments to your rolling clock under extraordinary circumstances, such as the birth of a child or medical reasons. 

The good news about the rolling clock is that it means you can focus on one division at a time. You can study by division to make exam prep easier. 

The Networking

Other exams may not require outside help or communication during the exam prep process. However, networking with mentors and fellow budding architects for ARE exam prep is key to getting answers to your questions and for discussing common issues that might arise while you’re studying. 

Becoming a part of the ARE Community means you’re not going through this alone. This community spirit can boost your confidence, enabling you to succeed one division at a time. 

Be Fully Prepared for the Exam

At Black Spectacles, not only do we offer tools to pass your ARE 5.0, but we also want you to be ready for the real architect world. 

Our architect registration exam prep memberships include:

  • Online Video Lectures
  • Online Practice Exams
  • Virtual Workshops
  • Digital Flashcards
  • Online Real-Life Practical Application videos

Ready to work towards your licensure? We’re ready to help. Check out our membership plans and pricing to find the right fit for you.


Similar posts